Mayor & City Council

City Council

Your Mayor and City Council are an active, elected body of government responsible for legislation and policy-making for the City.  The Mayor and three at-large Council Members are elected by all voters; three ward Council Members represent and are elected by voters in specific geographical districts.  Together, they adopt City ordinances, appoint members to boards and commissions, and approve an annual City budget. 

The City Council appoints the City Manager, City Clerk, Comptroller and City Attorney. The City Manager serves as the City's Chief Administrative Officer. Except for the purpose of inquiries, the City Council addresses administrative services through the City Manager. 

The Mayor has additional responsibilities as the official head of the City, representing the City at various government functions on a local, state and national basis. 

City Council members may be contacted individually, or you may leave a message at City Hall by calling the City Manager's Office at 616-530-7272.

Meet the City Council

Sheldon DeKryger

Sheldon DeKryger 
1st Ward Council Member


Marissa Postler
2nd Ward Council Member
Email: Marissa

Robert Postema
3rd Ward Council Member and
Mayor Pro-Tem

Email: Robert

Tommy Brann
Council Member-At-Large


Renee Hill
Council Member-At-Large
Email: Renee

Robert Arnoys
Council Member-At-Large
Email: Robert


2023 Strategy Map

Check out the City's Strategy Map, which was developed in December 2022 as a guide to prioritize the work of the City and establish a means to carry out the City's Mission statement: Community, Safety, Stewardship.

Contact Information

Kent Vanderwood
Email: Kent

City Council Chambers
1155 – 28th Street SW
PO Box 905
Wyoming, MI  49509

Email: City Hall