The Wyoming Department of Public Safety is located at 2300 DeHoop Ave SW, Wyoming, MI 49509. The records unit is open from 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM Monday through Thursday. The records unit can be reached by phone at 616-530-7314. from 7:00am-5:00pm Monday-Thursday.
Contact the Records Unit at 616-530-7314 to determine report availability. Charges may apply depending on processing time and scope of the request. Crash reports are available on line https://ecrash.lexisnexis.com You must be an involved party, have the report number and a credit card. The charge is $12.
Statewide background checks can be conducted 24/7 on Michigan State Police ICHAT (Internet Criminal History Access Tool). You need a credit card and the charge is $10.
Local (Wyoming) background checks are available for $10 . You must appear in person at the Police Department Records Unit with a valid photo ID, Monday through Thursday from 08:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m..
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Requests
You can make FOIA requests for Police Department documents at the Records Unit. For FOIA forms and information go to the City’s FOIA page.
You must apply for a "purchase permit" before buying a handgun from an individual. Come to the Records Unit Monday through Thursday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with a valid Michigan photo ID and complete the application. Upon approval, a purchase permit will be issued. The permit is valid for 30 days. The seller and buyer each complete parts of the form, and the buyer’s signature must be notarized. Records staff are notaries; The total fee is $6 ($2 per signature) for notary services. There is no fee for the permit. The completed purchase permit is the registration form. One copy of the completed purchase permit must be returned to the Records Unit within 10 days of the transaction.
Concealed Weapons Licenses (CPL) are available through the Kent County Clerk’s Office.
Sex Offender Registration
Offenders can register Mon-Fri from 08:00-4:00 with Records or the Desk Officer.
Here is a link for additional information regarding the Sex Offender Registry
Fingerprinting for job applicants and licensing is available at Kent County Sheriff’s Department, 701 Ball Ave., NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503. Call 616-632-6200 for hours and fees.
If you received a ticket, the ticket will contain the necessary information on how to respond. On the ticket you will find: court location, instructions, and the time and date of your required appearance. Civil Infraction tickets can be mailed to or paid at the District Court. For additional information regarding a ticket, please contact the District Court at 616-257-9825.
Vacation Home Check
Going on vacation? Our Retired Senior Volunteer Patrol provides vacation home checks to the residents of our community - seven days a week! To schedule this service, please call the RSVP coordinator at 530-7338 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday, or complete a Vacation Home Check Application that is available at the front desk of the Wyoming Police Department.